Andy McGavin

Inducted 2017

A superstar of Speedcar racing during its golden era from the late 1940’s to the late 1960’s, Andy McGavin won five Australian Speedcar titles from 1954 to 1961, including a hat-trick from 1954 to 1956. He also won five Australian Speedcar Grand Prix titles during the same time period and is second on the all-time list of feature wins at the Sydney Showground with 40.

Back in the days when the fastest drivers started at the rear in open cockpit cars, McGavin also recorded feature wins in Perth, Brisbane and Auckland in the days when competing interstate was still rare. McGavin retired from racing in 1964 and passed away in 1994 at the age of 69.